Frequently Asked Questions: Chat


Joining the Chat

To start chatting, enter your user name (any nickname) and click Connect. Your user name must be a unique chat user name and is valid for your current chat session. You may also enter your real name, email address, and a password.

Sending Messages
Chat messages are displayed in the chat message area. To add to the conversation, type in your message in the text box below the message area. By default your message is sent to all users.

To send a private message to a particular user, highlight the user from the users list on the right, select the Private User radio button and type your message. Everything you type will remain private until you turn Private User off.

Leaving the Chat
To end your chat session, click Log Off.

Ignoring Users
To screen out obnoxious users, highlight the user from the users list on the right, and select the Ignore User check box.

The Chat Buttons

Customizing the Chat window colors and fonts
Type *chat in the text box (where you type to send messages) to get a list of commands to change fonts and colors for your window. For example:

NOTE: The chat room settings will revert back to the default when you log out of a room.

Customizing Message Display

Audio Cue
Use the *beep command in the chat room to set an audio cue when anyone enters or leaves the room. If you enter *beep (in the message line) you will get a help message as well as the current beep settings.

To turn beep on when someone enters the room use:
*beep enter on

To turn beep on when someone leaves the room use:
*beep leave on

To turn beep off when someone enters the room use:
*beep enter off

To turn beep off when someone leaves the room use:
*beep leave off

NOTE: Settings will revert back to the default (sounds off) when you leave the room.

Creating a Private chat window
In order to create a private chat window with a user, enter *priv <username>

Paging the Admin / designated room Operator
To get a private chat window with the room operator/ admin enter *page

Getting timed out - idle time
Most chat rooms are set to have an idle time fo 10 minutes. This means if a user does not type in any message for up to 10 minutes, the chat server assumes the user to be idle and disconnects. If you want to lurk (watch and not chat) and do not want to get timed out, just hit the User Info button every now and then (before the 10 minute timeout). Password protected usernames (e.g admin names can set the idle time as per their preferences).